Crazy Critter Adventures

Lessons from the world around us

Butterfly

7 Comments

TB Butterfly

Art & Activity – Rachna Sagar

At art class we use Art and Activity Book by Rachna Sagar publications where we coloured a Butterfly. On the same page there was an interesting fact that caught my eye. I learnt that that a butterfly known as the Brimstone butterfly has the longest lifespan of about 9 – 10 months. This got me thinking about butterflies.

1. Last year I learnt the life cycle of a butterfly: From an egg comes a larva or caterpillar which then forms a cocoon and turns into a pupa and after the incubation period it becomes a butterfly

2. We use our tongue to taste food. But a butterflies taste receptors are found on their feet.

3. Butterflies can see the colours red, green and yellow! Unlike my dogs who are red-green colourblind and can only see yellow, blue and gray.

Butterflies are not just pretty to look at. There is a lot of scientific stuff we can learn about butterflies and I’m going to keep reading more.

I drew the picture from my art book using a cup to create the head and the body. You can try drawing your own butterfly and post it in the comments.

ButterflyButterfly Notes

 

 

Author: critterbug

Hi, my name is Diya and I'm in 5th Standard. I started the blog when I was in 3rd Standard because I wanted to share my adventures in learning with you. I love learning about nature and animals. I want to make sure we don't hurt our surrounding or kill our animals. So come along with me and see what I'm learning today.

7 thoughts on “Butterfly

  1. Hi Diya I sent e mail to your mom you are very smart can you imagine what all you can learn about Gods creation. See if you can write a small poem about butterfly

  2. Hi Diya! Butterflies are beautiful! I’d love to read the poem that user Pattiamma suggested. I love reading your poems, particularly the one about the flag and the sun! Have you ever tried catching butterflies? Or maybe ibutterflies? If you don’t know what those are, check it out here and download it – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TWcX3LkgUW0

  3. that was the funniest thing i’ve seen.

  4. Very cool, Deedee! I love your picture and it makes me want to draw my own. When I was in 6th grade, my class went to a camp for a week to learn about nature. We all got to choose fun new names and my name was Mariposa, which means butterfly in Spanish. In California I think we have a lot of Monarch butterflies. What’s your favorite? And what is the Tamil word for butterfly?

  5. Hi Diya challo,

    I took a long time to write the comment..kept on procrastinating. I learnt something from your blog about butterflies..That Brimstone butterfly lives for 8-10 months and the colors the butterflies can see.
    Whenever I see butterflies in our garden I think of you and the way you were always watching them with excitement. Yo know the black butterfly is still in the garden..but I am not sure whether it is the same one we both used to watch or a different one.

Leave a Reply

