Crazy Critter Adventures

Lessons from the world around us

Water For Life

11 Comments

IMG_3930

We have been learning about water at school.  Naturally my blog is about WATER.

I found some interesting facts about water in the Knowledge Encyclopedia with Prof. Hein Stien:

rwh_tank_bal_v10000l

  1. Water is found only on earth. No other planet has water.
  2. Container ships, though made of metal, do not sink because of buoyancy.
  3. And you know we use 10000 liters of  water  to make 1 pair of  jeans.

 

 

My mom came up with some questions and I had to ask people to help me answer these questions.

1. What is the chemical formula for water?

Ans. H2O (Answered by Ajji)

2. What is buoyancy?

Ans. Bouyancy is the ability for something to float in water. (Answered by Elita)

3. Why does ice float on water?

Ans. Ice floats in water because the solid form of water is lighter. (Answered by Irene)

4. Name three popular water pollutants?

Ans. Heavy metals, plastic and biowaste. (Answered by Tashina)

water-footprintWater is very important for life. It helps plants grow, it keeps us hydrated, gives us electricity, is a habitat for many water animals. This is why we protect our water. Some ways to protect out water is to

  1. Not waste water while brushing teeth or bathing
  2. Have rain water harvesting
  3. Don’t throw garbage in your water source

Here’s an interesting article on Water Footprint that shows how much water we use when we buy and use other products: http://blogs.ei.columbia.edu/2010/03/31/water-footprinting-my-water-footprint/

 

Author: critterbug

Hi, my name is Diya and I'm in 5th Standard. I started the blog when I was in 3rd Standard because I wanted to share my adventures in learning with you. I love learning about nature and animals. I want to make sure we don't hurt our surrounding or kill our animals. So come along with me and see what I'm learning today.

11 thoughts on “Water For Life

  1. Hi Diya! I love your blog. I am learning a lot from your adventures! Love, Auntie Amialya

  2. Interesting article Diya! You mentioned from the Encyclopedia says no other planet has water. While that may be true, how do we know that? It’s always good to know that there are places, galaxies, and worlds we’ve never even been to.

  3. Diya, you’ve come up with a smart way for people to connect with you. I like it! So tell me, can you think of three examples of how YOU save water AND how you (and all of us) waste water without even realizing it? I know I am guilty of sometimes letting the cold tap water run until it gets warm for me to wash my face. But I have wasted so much by the time it is warm!

    • deepa aunty my blog has few ideas on how to save water. But I liked learning about water footprint where a lady says we use 140 liters of water to maeke one cup of coffee and 10000 liters to make one pair of jeans. 🙂

      • That’s pretty crazy! I can’t believe it takes so much water for a pair of jeans. And I have alot of jeans LOL!!

  4. Hi Diyama,

    You educated me today. I never knew they use tons of water to make a pair of jeans. I wonder why? We also have to save water and not waste it (we do not get this on any other planet).

Leave a Reply

